Have you heard about the Web 2.0 Suicide Machine. The website lets you “sign out forever” from Facebook or, rather, “kill” your account- at least until a few days ago. Once they got wind of the startup website, Facebook quickly blocked the Suicide Machine servers from accessing their website.
According to a Facebook representative:
“Facebook provides the ability for people who no longer want to use the site to either deactivate their account or delete it completely. Web 2.0 Suicide Machine collects log-in credentials and scrapes Facebook pages, which are violations of our Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. We’ve blocked the site’s access to Facebook, as is our policy for sites that violate our SRR. We’re currently investigating and considering whether to take further action.”
Not familiar with how the Suicide Machine works? The website, rather than just deleting your Facebook account, will instead walk through your account, friend by friend and delete your connections one at a time via a script.
Prior to deleting your contacts, however, your profile picture will be changed to a pink noose (pictured on the left). Your password will also be changed preventing any future attempts at a profile “resurrection”
So, why the creation of the Suicide Machine? From the FAQ:
“Facebook and Co. are going to hold all your informations and pictures on their servers forever! We still hope that by removing your contact details and friend connections one-by-one, your data is being cached out from their backup servers. This can happen after days, weeks, months, or even years. So merely deactivating the account is just not enough!”
For the time being, if you still have the desire to remove yourself from Facebook, you’ll have to stick with the delete-account tools on Facebook iself.